Saturday, 22 August 2009

New Award for Short Fantasy

Following the success of the David Gemmell Legend Award and its celebration of heroic fantasy novels, a completely unrelated group of folks have decided that short heroic fiction deserves its trumpets too.

To that end, presenting: The Ham-Sized Fist Award! The award is for best heroic or sword & sorcery short fiction published during the year, whether in print or online and both the winning author AND the publisher scoop $400 prize money.

To find out how to nominate fiction for 2009, check out their website here.

Monday, 10 August 2009

Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards were presented at Worldcon over the weekend... and the lucky winners were:

* Best Novel: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
* Best Novella: The Erdmann Nexus by Nancy Kress
* Best Novelette: Shoggoths in Bloom by Elizabeth Bear
* Best Short Story: Exhalation by Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)
* Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)
* Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
* Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: WALL-E
* Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog
* Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow
* Best Editor Long Form: David G. Hartwell
* Best Professional Artist: Donato Giancola
* Best Semiprozine: Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal
* Best Fan Writer: Cheryl Morgan
* Best Fanzine: Electric Velocipede edited by John Klima
* Best Fan Artist: Frank Wu

And the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): David Anthony Durham

Thursday, 6 August 2009

Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Society have awarded their annual Mythopoeic awards and the lucky winners are:

Award for Adult Literature: Carol Berg for Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone
Award for Children's Literature: Kristin Cashore for Graceling

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies: John Rateliff for The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-end
Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies: Charles Butler for Four British Fantasists

It's especially pleasing to see that women scooped both the literature awards...